RSS Feed

The nightmare of “What detector should I buy?”

Posted on

The Question

I’ve  been asked this question more times than I care to count! “I’m just getting into detecting, what detector should I buy?” As I said in my last post, it depends on where you live and what kind of detecting you plan to do. Today I will cover detectors for basic land hunting.

I knew I needed to do a little research because I have no idea what is on the market today! After spending some time trying to find all the models and prices of just the top 6 selling brands, (there are loads more!) I realized what a nightmare it must be for someone who has no idea what they’re looking at! I have 30 years in this hobby, and I was just getting models and prices, not actually looking at what each manufacturer says the machine can do. I almost quit! Of the 6 brands I checked there are over 30 different models ranging from $100 to $2500.

That is a wide range of detectors. Can there really be that much of a difference?

I have in my mind that the lower end machines don’t go as deep. Is it true? Do we really need all these whistles and bells? Dick stout has raised this question many times. I guess having the luxury of owning several of the high end machines, I didn’t think it mattered. Is it like driving a Ford versus a Mercedes? They will both get you there. One will just get there quicker and in style!

Audience participation time! I’d really like to know which detector(s) in each price range you would buy and why. You can post your reply here.

I will start at $300 and below. “All prices taken from Kellyco website!”

Basic detector: Price range up to $300

I have used 2 of these detectors, very limited use (my kids’ detectors) Ace 150 and 250. The 150 seemed very toyish but will detect targets down to 5 or 6 inches. The 250 got decent depth, but the pinpointing on both machines is not the best.

Brand Model

Retail Price

Actual Price

Minelab No Models
Teknetics Alpha 2000

299

200

Teknetics Delta 4000

549

300

Fisher F2

349

299

Garrett Ace 150

150

130

Garrett Ace 250

250

225

Garrett Ace 350

300

280

Whites No models
Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505

450

300

Bounty Hunter Quick draw II

279

200

Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

159

125

Midrange detectors $300 to &600

No experience with any of these machines

Brand Model

Retail Price

Actual Price

Minelab X-terra 305

500

400

Minelab X-terra 505

700

550

Teknetics Gamma 6000

699

499

Teknetics Omega 8000

749

599

Fisher F-4

499

399

Fisher F-5

550

500

Garrett AT-Pro

600

600

Whites M-6

700

600

Upper end detectors $600 to $1,000

X-terra 705: I love this machine. I used it in Alaska for nugget hunting (gold package model) as well as on a couple of the iron-infested beaches here in Chicago, and homesites in England. Good separation, decent depth, and in all-metal mode, it’s good for small targets.

T-2 Special Edition: Another great machine recently added to my arsenal. The boost processor mode adds some serious depth. See my T-2 field test video!

Whites MXT: I used Whites for my first 20 years of detecting, and had an MXT for 7 years. It is a great ID and pinpointing machine for targets up to 8 inches. When I was park hunting here in Chicago I switched to the Explorer SE to get the deeper coins.

Brand Model

Retail Price

Actual Price

Minelab X-terra 705

950

800

Teknetics T-2 Special edition

1249

950

Whites MXT

799

700

Whites MXT Pro

899

800

Fisher F-70

800

650

Fisher F-75

1250

950

Top of the line

E-trac: I used this for about a year and a half, great depth and separation.

CTX-3030: I just got this machine about 2 months ago and haven’t had a lot of time to use it. But again, great separation, I like the fact that it will show both an iron target and the good target at the same time.

Brand Model Retail Price Actual Price
Minelab E-Trac

1895

1550

Minelab CTX-3030

3200

2500

Blisstool LTC64X V3 Standard

1095

1095

XP Daus

2299

1899

Conclusion?

I have always offered the advice that “you should buy the best detector that you can afford!” I think the truth of the matter is this; if it is close enough to the surface, and you walk over it, it will be yours! Take the example of Terry Herbert, who found the Staffordshire hoard. He had a used detector that he bought at a garage sale! His find is valued at over $5 million! http://www.staffordshirehoard.org.uk/

How about the guy who bought a basic metal detector, and on his first hunt found a hoard of Roman Gold coins! http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2218640/Novice-treasure-hunter-bought-basic-metal-detector-40-Roman-coins-worth-100-000.html

Granted these were found in England in plowed fields, and NOT the norm. In the US there are no reporting standards. If someone finds a cache they can quietly tuck it away! I’m sure stuff is found way more often than we hear about.

Hopefully I will get some informed responses from you seasoned detectorists on machines! Let’s give beginners the benefit of our wisdom, experience, trial and error!

Please forward this to anyone you think would be willing to share their knowledge!

HH

CR

About chicagoron61

I enjoy every aspect of this hobby! The people you meet, the finds, the history and the stories. Sharing is half the fun!

22 responses »

  1. I think that detecting is no different from any other pastime or hobby. You start out with something affordable, and once you catch the bug, you move on up to the next level. Having said that, after 35 years I find myself regressing in that I am quite happy with what I currently have and not interested in any of the newer models. I also find the higher end prices outrageous. I use the MXT Pro and just recently bought the old 6000di, Series 2, detector, one of my all time favorites.

    Think you left out a few White’s detectors under $300?

    Reply
  2. gregg larabel

    I have used the Bounty Hunter Time Ranger for years and I love it.

    Reply
  3. Gail Martineau Giarrusso

    Hey cuz,

    Going to be relocating to Florida in the next couple years and thinking about hitting the beaches. I have read on some sites that salt can interfere with readings on some detectors. I guess that might influence what type of equipment I might want to invest in. Help!

    Reply
  4. I think it has do with your expectations
    If your thing is clad coins and recent rings and things most mid range detectors will work great. If you are obsessed with pre 1900 coins
    Then I think looking into a higher end machine
    Makes sense. I used a mid priced detector for
    Years but I felt that if I was going to spend countless hours in the field I wanted a machine I would be very confident in. I invested in a etrac and am very happy with it the target separation is outstanding and so is the depth. The third day I had the machine I found a 1895-0 barber dime in an area I had been over hundreds of times. The first year I found over 100 pre 1900 Indians in a park that
    I had found less than 10 the year before. A lot of square nails mixed in with them but the target separation on the etrac made it possible. I can’t count all the coins I know I would of missed without the etrac. I know I’ll hear about mid range detectors finding lots of old coins and I’m sure they do but when I spent 8 hrs detecting I want to be able to feel confident it was me and not the machine

    Reply
    • All great points Someone! That is why I switched to Minelab. I was in a park with my MXT and 2 of my friends had Explorer SE’s. They were digging targets that my machine couldn’t hear. Bought one the next day. First year in the parks in Chicago I dug 130 silver coins and 140 Indians!

      Reply
  5. I have been using a Bounty Hunter Quick draw for a number of years get about 6″ depth on a coin sized target, I find the notch settings work very well. all that being said, I just purchased a Garrett AT-PRO with the finds from the Bounty Hunter.

    Reply
  6. White’s does have an entry level detector although it does not appear in the Kellyco website. It is the CoinMaster. I know very little of it but it is listed in the White’s site as a currently available detector

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Is sharing information taboo? To share or not to share… | Chicago Ron

  8. I have only been detecting for 1 year here in the UK .i use a ace 250 so I can’t comment on any other machines but I have found the 250 a great entry level machine,,its switch on and go ,easy to understand,affordable,and will pick up coin sized items at 6 to 7 inches .
    On the down side,its not great on the beach ,wet sand especially. (i recommend turning the sensitivity down to 3 bars for the beach ) and its yellow lol.
    Overall I would recommend this machine to beginners ,maybe after you are completely hooked on the hobby you can upgrade to a more advanced machine ,also the 250’s seem to hold there value well if you decide to sell it on

    Reply
  9. Hi Ron.I reckon for the price the AT Pro is very good value for money.Good depth and the iron discrimination makes it a cut above the rest(in that price range)Also works great as a fresh water detector.I use the Excal for water detecting and I must say it still finds the goodies among the large amount of iron junk here in our waters at the beach…I pulled 14 gold rings in about 24 hunts(all well past waist deep on the lowtide)Look forward to your water detecting blog..HH:) New Zealand…http://treasureseekingnz.blogspot.co.nz/

    Reply
  10. I am of 2 minds here:

    On one hand I think folks that aren’t really sure that MD’ing is for them should start with a lower end machine, say $200-300 range; OR buy the best machine that they can afford. The reason for that is that lightly-used higher end Minelabs machines (the only ones I really watch) seem to easily hold 80% of their value on ebay, so you can get out of the hobby that way if you find it isn’t for you. But if you like the hobby, you will end up buying another detector before too long regardless of which way you go.

    An exception to all that is if you want to hunt salt water (or maybe even fresh), get an Excalibur. (unless you’ve already bought the Minelab 3030 with the Buy The Most Expensive option above)

    I’d highly advise a newcomer to find a local club and hang around them(especially if theres no retail outlet near them). That way s/he can get to try lots of different machines for free. And anyone that’s new reading this: DO NOT go hunting without a pinpointer; preferably Garrett, Minelab as a 2nd choice. I don’t know how I ever found anything before I owned a pinpointer!

    Reply
  11. Seems that you have a grudge against Whites and Tesoro. Ever hear of the VX3 or the V3i! Come on man! TESORO Vaquero, Tejon, compadre, etc. Etc.

    Reply
    • Scotty544, no disrespect intended to those other manufacturers. I only did 5 and I picked the 5 I have used. I believe I state that there are others out there. I know I missed several Whites models. Sorry.

      Reply
  12. Teknetics Omega 8000 with 11″ coil will go almost as deep all the high end machines. supper great i iron infested areas.

    Reply

Leave a comment